Your drafts & posts

There are three types of posts on Medium:

  • Drafts are unfinished posts that have not yet been published. People can only read your draft if you share the URL.
  • Public posts can be read by anyone from your profile page and elsewhere on Medium.
  • Unlisted posts are finished published posts, but cannot be viewed from your profile page or in the Medium network. You must share the post URL for people to be able to read them.

In this section, you can learn how to manage your posts. 

Viewing your posts


DesktopiOSAndroid
  1. Click on your profile picture in the top-right corner of the page to open a menu.
  2. Click Stories.

Create a new draft


DesktopiOSAndroid
  1. Click on your profile picture in the top-right corner of the page to open a menu.
  2. Click Write a story.

Note: You will need to be using one of our supported browsers to write.

Ready to write? To learn more about publishing a story on Medium, see this article.

Delete a draft or post


DesktopiOSAndroid
  1. Click on your profile picture in the top-right corner of the page to open a menu.
  2. Click Stories.
  3. Scroll down to the story you want to delete.
  4. Click the  down arrow button.
  5. Click Delete story.

Common questions


How do I unpublish a post?
Posts on Medium cannot be reverted back to draft status. Instead, you can copy your post, paste it to a new draft, and delete the published post. An alternative way to hide a post from public view is to set it as unlisted. Please note that posts that have been unlisted can still be accessed by everyone who has the link.
How do I delete all my posts?
There is currently no way to batch delete all of your posts from Medium without deleting your account. You would need to delete each of your posts manually.
Can I password-protect a story?

Password-protecting stories is not available.

Was this article helpful?
Have more questions? Submit a request