Your stories

There are three types of posts on Medium:

  • Drafts are unfinished posts that have not yet been published. Other Medium account holders can only read your draft if you share the URL.
  • Public posts are published and can be read by anyone from your profile page and elsewhere on Medium.
  • Unlisted posts are also published posts, but they cannot be viewed from your profile page or in the Medium network. You must share the post URL for people to be able to read them. Learn more about unlisted publishing.

In this section, you can learn how to manage stories on your Medium account. 

Viewing your posts


DesktopiOS & Android
  1. On your homepage, click on   your profile picture.
  2. Tap Stories.

Creating a new draft


DesktopiOS & Android
  1. On your homepage, click on   your profile picture.
  2. Click Write a story to start writing a new draft.

Note: You will need to be using a supported browser to be able to write.

Ready to write? To learn more about publishing a story on Medium, see this article.

DesktopiOS & Android

From the Stories page:

Screen_Shot_2020-06-25_at_10.49.56.png

  1. On your homepage, click on   your profile picture and click Stories.
  2. Scroll down to the story you want to delete and click the  down arrow button.
  3. Click Delete story and confirm.

From the post page:

  1. Navigate to the post you want to delete.
  2. Click the  three-dot button in the top-right corner to enter the edit mode.
  3. In edit mode, click  three-dot button.
  4. Choose More settings from the drop-down menu.
  5. Scroll down to the bottom of the page, click Delete story and confirm.

Note: This deletion is permanent, and your post will be removed in accordance with the Privacy Policy.

Common questions


How do I unpublish a post?
Posts on Medium cannot be reverted back to draft status. Instead, you can copy your post, paste it to a new draft, and delete the published version. An alternative way to hide a post from teh public view is to set it as unlisted. Please note that posts that have been unlisted can still be accessed by anyone who has the link.
How do I delete all my posts?
There is currently no way to batch delete all of your posts from Medium without deleting your account. You would need to delete each of your posts manually.
Can I password-protect a story?

Password-protecting stories is not available.

Was this article helpful?
Have more questions? Submit a request