Email story links to subscribers

Sections in this article:

 

Promote subscriptions


Followers can subscribe to receive links to your stories in their inbox if you promote subscriptions. You can always control which stories get sent before you publish. See the Emailing links to your stories section below to learn more.

 

**Please note - Your promotion will not show on posts that are part of publications that have Newsletter promotion enabled, and those posts will only show the Newsletter promotion**

Desktop
  1. On your homepage, click on   your profile picture in the top-right corner of the page.
  2. Click Settings from the menu.
  3. In the Followers section, scroll down to Promotion and click the checkbox to display a promotion message.

Please note: Only you and your followers will see this promotion if it’s set to display on your profile home and about pages.

Emailing links to your stories


Before you publish, you can decide whether to email the story link to your subscribers. This option will automatically show up unless you don’t have any subscribers. If you choose to send, a preview of the story and a link will appear in the email to direct openers to read more on Medium. See the Promote subscriptions section above to learn how to build a list of subscribers.

Desktop
  1. On your homepage, click on   your profile picture in the top-right corner of the page.
  2. Click New story from the menu.
  3. Write a story and click Publish. To learn more about publishing a story, see this article.
  4. Check the option to email a link to the story on the right side of screen.
  5. Click Publish and send now.
Please note: It will take a few minutes to send the link. Once it’s sent, you’ll get a copy of the email in your inbox. You can only send a story to your subscribers once.

Export your subscribers


Writers can export a list of their subscribers. You can only export by agreeing to follow our Terms of Service, which include important terms that apply to your use of subscriber information. For example, you agree not to sell this information or use it in ways that violate applicable laws or the rights of others.

Desktop
  1. On your homepage, click on   your profile picture in the top-right corner of the page.
  2. Click Settings from the menu.
  3. In the Followers section, scroll down to Export subscribers and click Export list.
  4. Review and confirm terms for exporting.
  5. Check your email. You’ll receive a link to download a list of subscribers which will expire after 24 hours.

Please note: The list will only contain subscribers who’ve opted in to share their email address. Email addresses that are associated with deleted or suspended accounts will also not be included in the list.

Was this article helpful?
Have more questions? Submit a request