Trouble with merging duplicate Medium accounts

If you've accidentally created multiple accounts on Medium, this guide can help you remove all your additional accounts and keep your primary Medium account.

Medium currently does not offer a way to merge multiple Medium accounts or migrate account data (stories, bookmarks, membership subscription, followers, etc.) between accounts. Instead, you can manually move all the relevant data between your accounts, and then delete your inactive accounts.

Troubleshooting


Step 1: Locate all your Medium accounts

Make sure that you know what are the accounts that you have created on Medium and how to access them.

If you accidentally signed in to one of your other Medium accounts, go to your account Settings page to find your username and email address associated with that account. If at this point you're able to confirm that this account is not your primary account, you can delete it right away from the bottom of the Settings page.

It's also recommended to check all your email inboxes to see if you have any emails from Medium. If you do, it means that there's an account associated with that email address.

Step 2: Manually move your data between accounts

If you find that you've been accidentally using multiple Medium accounts at the same time (e.g. from multiple devices), you might want to manually move some of your data between those accounts before you decide to delete one.

Please note: Medium Support does not have the ability to move your account data (such as your followers/following, bookmarks, drafts, reading history, claps, highlights, your membership subscription, your Partner Program information, and more) between accounts.

In that case, you might want to check your secondary account to see if you can manually move something to your main account:

  • Go to your bookmarks to see if you have any stories that you might want to bookmark on your primary account
  • Check the accounts you follow to see if there's someone you might want to follow from your primary account
  • Check your Stories page to see if you have any published stories or responses
  • Check if you have any drafts that you can copy-paste to your primary account
  • Check your Settings page to see if you have a membership subscription attached to that account.

Your membership subscription

If you have a membership subscription on one of your accounts, you might want to keep that account. Otherwise, you would need to cancel your subscription on that account and re-subscribe from the account that you wish to keep.

Step 3: Delete your inactive Medium account(s)

Make sure you’re currently signed in to the account you wish to delete and follow the instructions below.

DesktopiOSAndroid
  1. Click on your profile picture in the top-right corner and click Settings.
  2. Click Delete account at the bottom of the page.
  3. Confirm the action by entering your username.

Note: This deletion is permanent, and all your account data will be removed.

 

Was this article helpful?
Have more questions? Submit a request