Trouble with multiple Medium accounts

If you accidentally created multiple Medium accounts, this guide will help you sign in to your primary Medium account.

You might have multiple Medium accounts if you:

  • became a Medium member but still don't have access to members-only content
  • lost access to your published stories and drafts on Medium or other account data

Duplicate accounts might be inadvertently created when you try to sign in to an existing Medium account using an email address or a social media account that is not associated with your original Medium account. When that happens, Medium automatically prompts you to create a new account instead.

Troubleshooting


Step 1: Find your primary Medium account

Make sure that you know what accounts you have created on Medium and how to access them. You can find your other Medium account in multiple ways:

  • If you have a membership subscription, check all your email inboxes and try to find the email titled "Thank you for becoming a member". If you are able to find that email, it means that your membership Medium account is associated with that email address.
  • Check if you can find any other emails from Medium in your email inboxes. If you have received emails from Medium to a specific inbox, it means that you have an account associated with that email address.

Step 2: Sign in to your primary account

If you know which of your email addresses is associated with your primary Medium account, you will need to sign out of your existing account and sign in to your primary account instead.

DesktopiOSAndroid
  1. Click on your profile picture in the top-right corner of the page.
  2. Click Sign out.
  3. On the Medium homepage, click Sign in in the top-right corner.
  4. Choose Sign in with email.
  5. Enter the email address of your primary account and click Continue.
  6. Go to your inbox and open the verification email.
  7. Click Sign in to Medium in the email to be redirected to Medium and signed in to your account.
Note: The email verification link expires after fifteen minutes and can only be used once. If you run out of time or need a new email login later on, you can simply follow the same process again to get a fresh email login link.
Was this article helpful?
Have more questions? Submit a request