Delete or deactivate your account

Desktop iOS & Android

Deactivate an account


If you deactivate your account, your profile and all your data will disappear from Medium, but your account data will still stay in our database. Deactivated accounts can be restored at any time simply by signing in to the deactivated account.

  1. On your homepage, click on   your profile picture in the top-right corner and click Settings.
  2. Click Deactivate account at the bottom of the page.
  3. Confirm the action.

Delete an account


Note: This deletion is permanent, and all your account data will be removed in accordance with our Privacy Policy.

  1. On your homepage, click on   your profile picture in the top-right corner and click Settings.
  2. Click Delete account at the bottom of the page.
  3. Confirm the action by entering your username.
Was this article helpful?
Have more questions? Submit a request