Supported browsers

Medium prioritizes support for browsers according to the following tiers. 

Tier 1

Our Tier 1 browsers get the full Medium experience. This includes logging in, composing and editing stories, interacting through notes, and using all the other Medium features.

  • Chrome 26 or newer
  • Safari 6.1 or newer
  • Opera 15 or newer
  • Firefox 19 or newer (Iceweasel is not supported)
  • Microsoft Edge

Tier 2

Tier 2 browsers can do everything a Tier 1 browser can except compose and edit stories.

  • Chrome 1 through 25
  • Internet Explorer 10 or newer (including IE mobile)
  • Firefox 4 through 18
  • Safari 3 through 5
  • IOS 5 or newer
  • Android 2 or newer
  • Mobile Safari
  • Mobile Chrome (iOS or Android)

Tier 3

Tier 3 is everything else, like IE 5.5 for Mac or Lynx. You should be able to read Medium articles in these browsers, but we suggest that you download Mozilla Firefox, Apple Safari, or Google Chrome.

Was this article helpful?
Have more questions? Submit a request