Delete or deactivate account

Deleting an account will remove it from our servers entirely in accordance to our Privacy Policy.

If you deactivate your account, your profile and all your data will disappear from Medium, but your account data will still stay in our database. Deactivated accounts can be restored at any time simply by signing in to the deactivated account.

Desktop iOS Android

Deactivate an account


  1. Click on your avatar in the top-right corner and click Settings.
  2. Click Deactivate account at the bottom of the page.
  3. Confirm the action.

Delete an account


  1. Click on your avatar in the top-right corner and click Settings.
  2. Click Delete account at the bottom of the page.
  3. Confirm the action by entering your username.

Note: This deletion is permanent, and all your account data will be removed.

Was this article helpful?
Have more questions? Submit a request